Register For Federal Disaster Assistance Even If You Have Insurance


ATLANTA – September 5, 2012 – (RealEstateRama) — Hurricane Isaac survivors in Mississippi who had property losses in Hancock, Harrison, Jackson or Pearl River counties should register for federal disaster assistance even if  they have insurance.

Insured survivors should register as soon as they can with the Federal Emergency Management Agency for several reasons.

Federal disaster assistance may be provided prior to a delayed insurance settlement and assist an eligible survivor during their recovery. However, federal assistance must be repaid once an insurance settlement is received.

An insurance settlement may be insufficient to cover all eligible damages or losses. Federal disaster assistance may fill in eligible gaps a survivor’s insurance doesn’t cover.

Survivors who have flood insurance on their property should be aware that it covers the following:

  • The structure and its foundation
  • Electrical and plumbing
  • Central air conditioning equipment, furnaces and water heaters,
  • Refrigerators, cooking stoves and built-in appliances such as dishwashers
  • Permanently installed carpeting over unfinished flooring
  • Permanently installed paneling, wallboard, bookcases and cabinets
  • Window blinds
  • Detached garages
  • Debris removal
  • Some personal items, such as clothing, furniture, window units, microwave ovens and dishwashers, washers and dryers and food freezers

Federal disaster assistance may include temporary housing assistance if a residence is uninhabitable and its coverage does not include additional living expenses.

Assistance for insured survivors may come in the form of grants or low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Survivors can register by going to or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). They also can apply through their smartphones or tablets by going to

Disaster applicants who use TTY should call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) should call 800-621-3362.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.


On March 1, 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The primary mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the Nation from all hazards, including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters, by leading and supporting the Nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation


1 (800) 621-FEMA (3362)

Next articleBe Safe: Use Care When Returning To Flooded Areas