Help Remains After Tunica Recovery Center Closes


JACKSON, Miss. – (RealEstateRama) — The disaster recovery center operated by the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency in Tunica County will close permanently Saturday, April 16, at 6 p.m., and recovery center hours are changing at all other centers beginning Saturday, April 16.

Disaster survivor assistance teams continue to canvass flood-affected areas throughout Mississippi with information on available assistance. Area residents may still call the FEMA helpline listed below or visit nearby centers.

Disaster recovery centers are open this week from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and Saturday 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Beginning Saturday, April 16, center hours will be Monday through Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.,

Saturday 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Closed Sunday

Centers are located at:

Bolivar County

Willard R. Samuel Jr. Gymnasium

700 N. Chrisman Ave.

Cleveland, MS 38732

Coahoma County (Closed Saturday, April 16, and Sunday, April 17, for a local event)

506 E. Second St.

Clarksdale, MS 38614

Quitman County

Marks Fire Department

108 W. Main St.

Marks, MS 38646

Tunica County

G.W. Henderson Senior Recreation Center

1165 Abbay Drive

Tunica, MS 38676

Washington County

Washington County Convention Center

1040 South Raceway Road

Greenville, MS 38703

Anyone affected by the storms and flooding in a designated county may visit any of the centers. Survivors can locate the nearest center by visiting or by calling the FEMA helpline.

Many services available at disaster recovery centers are also available by calling the FEMA helpline at 800-621-3362. Survivors with questions regarding the application or the appeals process, or who need to register for assistance, may visit online at or by phone (voice, 711 or relay service) at 800-621-3362. (TTY users should call 800-462-7585.) The toll-free lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

If you require a reasonable accommodation (ASL interpreting, Braille Large Print, etc.) while visiting a disaster recovery center, call the appropriate Helpline number above.

Survivors also can use the helpline to:

  • Ask questions about a letter from FEMA.
  • Learn how to appeal a FEMA decision. All applicants may appeal.
  • Inquire about the status of a registration.
  • Provide change of address, telephone and bank account numbers and insurance information to avoid disaster assistance processing delays.
  • Receive information about FEMA home inspections.
  • Get other questions answered about federal disaster assistance.

    Applicants should have their nine-digit FEMA registration number and ZIP code if they want to discuss their application.

    For the latest information on Mississippi disaster recovery operations, go online to


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). If you are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability loss and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 800-621-3362.

The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. People who are referred to SBA by FEMA will be contacted by SBA and provided options for the application process. Completed applications must be submitted to SBA officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.


On March 1, 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The primary mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the Nation from all hazards, including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters, by leading and supporting the Nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation


1 (800) 621-FEMA (3362)

Previous articleRobottom Announces Completion of Mississippi River Waterline Crossing Project
Next articleTallahatchie County Added to Federal Disaster Declaration for March Severe Storms and Floods